AWS Resume Challenge

AWS Resume Challenge

As a recent achiever of the AWS-CCP, most of my AWS knowledge is theoretical. For it to be useful, I looked for projects where I could apply my cloud knowledge. Ergo, I found the AWS Resume Challenge by Forrest Brazeal.

"Unlike most technical resources you'll find, the Cloud Resume Challenge isn't a tutorial or a how-to guide. It's a project spec, and not a very helpful one at that. It tells you what the outcome of the project should be, and provides enough structure that you don't go too far off the rails, but other than that - you're on your own!"

The end goal of the challenge is to validate one's knowledge and skills through the successful hosting of a website using a cloud provider of choice, CI/CD, Python, front-end Javascript and, back-end cloud services.

Here are the milestones to be accomplished in the challenge:

  • Chunk 0. Certification Prep

  • Chunk 1. Building the front-end

  • Chunk 2. Building the API

  • Chunk 3. Front-end/back-end integration

  • Chunk 4. Automation (IaC, CI/CD)

At this point, I have finished Chunks 0 and 1 but completed Chunk 0 without going through the guide and wrote a post about it here. For Chunks 1 and the following, I will create separate posts and link them in the following:

I will try to do the "mods" included as well as other concepts and techniques not suggested in the book. If you're following, I do hope you'd find something of value.

For now, here's the link to my resume in the cloud: donangeles.com

Thank you and I would love to hear your thoughts!